Dear Taxpayer:

Florida law requires my office to value property based on
the status of the real estate market and the personal property

market as of January 1. This means that the impacts of

COVID-19 have been incorporated into the enclosed
assessment. While markets were slow in the early days of the
pandemic, the second half of 2020 saw record sales in both
volume and prices. Please contact us if you have any questions.

more information.

The Notice of Proposed Property Taxes contains useful

information about the 2021 tax roll. One side highlights the
proposed tax rate by taxing authority and public hearing

information to make your voice heard. The other side contains

the market, assessed and taxable values of your property, plus
information about qualified exemptions and assessment caps.

Reporting Tangible
Personal Property

Tangible business assets valued
at more than $25,000 are
subject to ad valorem taxes.
Timely filing can provide
significant property tax savings
by granting up to a $25,000
exemption and avoiding late
filing penalties. All businesses
are required to file a Tangible
Personal Property Tax Return
annually by April 1, unless:

e The value of your personal
property last year was
under $25,000 and

* You received a notice from
our office that your requirement
to file has been waived.

If you purchase additional assets
that increase the total value
above $25,000, you are required
to file a return.

Our office works with businesses
in the community to help them
understand the property tax
benefits that are available to
them. Contact our Tangible
Personal Property Department
staff with any questions you may
have at MyTPP@pbcgov.org or
561.355.2896.

Palm Beach County
Property Appraiser

\ DOROTHYJACKS

Palm Beach County Property Appraiser

As you review this information,

my staff is happy to answer any
questions you may have. Please call,
email or visit pbcgov.org/PAPA for

Thank you for allowing me to
serve as your Property Appraiser.

Dorothy Jacks, CFA, AAS

CFA, AAS
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How We Value Tangible Personal Property

The Property Appraiser’s Office appraises
the value of all residential, commercial,
and agricultural properties and tangible
personal property in Palm Beach County.
We use a state-of-the-art computer
system to continuously process property
data from local and industry sources
and from field inspections performed by
our highly-trained appraisal experts. We
update property values every year based
on market conditions as of January 1.

To determine the value of tangible
personal property, we consider the

E File Returns and
Mailing Address Changes

If you've filed a Tangible Personal Property
Tax Return in the past, our E File system at
pbcgov.org/PAPA offers real-time filing,
management of business assets, user-
friendly help screens, and the ability to
review and update prior year data. The E File
system will guide you through the process.

If you are changing (or have changed) your
business location and/or mailing address,
you can submit a request at pbcgov.org/
PAPA to change it in our records. It's simple
and convenient.

original cost of the property and its age
and condition. We use tables provided
by the Florida Department of Revenue
as well as those developed by our office
to adjust for inflation, age, and condition
of each asset. Each asset type is also
assigned an economic life after which
time a residual value is applied.

Tables for indices, economic life,

and depreciation can be found at
pbcgov.org/PAPA under the Tangible
Personal Property tab.

Filing a
Tangible Return

» E File at pbcgov.org/PAPA

> Complete the application
online, print it out, and
mail it to our office

» Have your accountant E File

> Have your accountant file a
paper return with our office

pbcgov.org/PAPA



Reading the Notice of
Proposed Property Taxes

This notice includes:

* The proposed (not finalized) taxes to be levied on
your property by the various taxing authorities

* Information about the budget hearings at which
the taxing authorities will set your final tax rate

® The market, assessed, and taxable value of your property,
along with any qualified exemption and assessment caps

The Property Appraiser's Office is required by Florida statute
to mail notices to all property owners in Palm Beach County
on behalf of the taxing authorities that set the tax rates and
levy taxes on properties.

0 THIS IS NOT A BILL. You will receive a tax bill from the
Palm Beach County Constitutional Tax Collector in November.

Calculating Your Taxes

Column 3 is the best estimate of your taxes.

Column 3 reflects the budget change and tax rate proposed
by each taxing authority. The final tax rate will be based on
the budgets approved by the taxing authorities following
their public hearings.

Tangible Personal Property is not subject to non-ad valorem
assessments, which are charges for governmental services to
your area such as solid waste, drainage, street lighting, etc.

Filing a Petition

If you feel that the market value of your property is
inaccurate or does not reflect fair market value as of
January 1, 2021, or you are entitled to an exemption or
classification that is not reflected on the 2021 Notice of
Proposed Property Taxes, contact the Property Appraiser’s
Office for an informal review. Call us at 561.355.3230

and we will connect you with an appraiser or exemption
specialist to discuss your concerns.

If we are unable to resolve the matter, you have the right
to file a petition for adjustment with the Value Adjustment
Board (VAB) through the Clerk of the Circuit Court &
Comptroller. They can be reached at 561.355.6289.

Petitions must be filed with the VAB on or before Monday,
September 13, 2021.
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Questions? Visit pbcgov.org/PAPA for an interactive guide to your notice.

Contact Information

Condominium, Cooperative, Tangible Personal Property

Townhouse 561.355.2896
561.355.2690 mytpp@pbcgov.org
mycondo@pbcgov.org

Agricultural Property
Single Family, Mobile Home 561.355.4577
North County 561.624.6795 myfarm@pbcgov.org
West Palm Beach ~ 561.355.2883

Mid-County 561.784.1210 All Exemptions

South County 561.276.1201 & Portability

West County 561.996.4890 561.355.2866
myhouse@pbcgov.org myexemption@pbcgov.org
Commercial Property pbcgov.org/PAPA

561.355.3988
mycommercial@pbcgov.org
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Service Centers

Downtown Belle Glade

West Palm Beach 2976 State Road 15
301 North Olive Avenue, 1st Floor Belle Glade, FL 33430
West Palm Beach, FL 33401 561.996.4890
561.355.2866

North County
Mid West County 3188 PGA Boulevard, 2nd Floor
200 Civic Center Way, Suite 200 Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411 561.624.6521
561.784.1220

South County

14925 Cumberland Drive
Delray Beach, FL33446
561.276.1250
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CFA, AAS
Palm Beach County Property Appraiser




