MILLAGE

We Value What You Value

THIS IS:

YOUR NOTIFICATION OF PROPERTY VALUE

This notice shows the change in market, assessed and taxable values
of your property. If you disagree with your valuation, now is the time
to contact us at 561.355.2866.

If we are unable to resolve the matter, this is your opportunity to file
a petition with the Value Adjustment Board through the Clerk of the

DOROTHYJACKS

CFA, AAS

Palm Beach County Property Appraiser

TRIM 2024

Notice of Proposed Property Taxes

AN EXPLANATION OF ANY
EXEMPTIONS

Any exemptions or assessment reductions are
spelled out on the front of your notice. If you
have questions about your exemptions, contact
us at 561.355.2866.

Circuit Court & Comptroller. They can be reached at 561.355.6289.

YOUR CHANCE TO HAVE A SAY IN
YOUR TAX RATES

The notice shows proposed millages, or tax rates,
for each taxing authority, as well as information
about each authority’'s budget hearing, so that
you are empowered to participate in the process
of setting your tax rates.

For more information, call or visit

us at 561.355.2866 | pbcpao.gov

Dear Taxpayer,

My office of appraisal experts has determined the market, assessed and taxable
values of your property.

Florida law requires my office to value property based on the status of the real
estate market and the personal property market as of January 1.

The Notice of Proposed Property Taxes contains useful information about the
2024 tax roll. One side highlights the proposed tax rate by taxing authority and
public hearing information. The other side contains the market, assessed and
taxable values of your property, plus information about qualified exemptions
and assessment caps.

As you review the information in your Notice, my staff is happy to answer
any questions you may have. Please call, email or visit pbcpao.gov for
more information.

Thank you for allowing me to serve as your Property Appraiser.

Contact the Palm Beach County
Property Appraiser’s Office

Dorothy Jacks
CFA, FIAAO, AAS
Palm Beach County Property Appraiser

561.355.2866
myexemption@pbcpao.gov




PALM BEACH COUNTY PROPERTY TAXES

Florida has no state income tax. The majority of the funding for your local services comes from
property taxes.

More than four billion dollars in property taxes is distributed every year to Palm Beach County schools, libraries,
public safety, healthcare programs, and more.

) First, the Property Appraiser’s Office n
determines property value and administers
exemptions. Our Exemptions team may be
able to help you find tax savings.

) Finally, the Tax n
Collector mails tax
bills in November and
accepts payment.

> Then, cities, the county,
and other taxing
authorities set a tax
rate or millage.

RISING TAX BILLS IN A FLATTENING MARKET YOUR VALUES AND YOUR VOICE

Florida's property tax caps (up to 3% for homesteaded
properties and 10% for non-homestead properties) can cause
your assessed value to increase even if your market value does
not. Florida law requires that the assessed value continue to
increase by the maximum cap amount each year until the gap
between the assessed value and market value is “recaptured”
or the assessed value equals the market value.

Your home value is only half of the
equation when it comes to calculating
your property taxes.

The other half of your tax bill is the
millage ($1 for every $1,000 in taxable
value). The millage is the tax rate that is
set by your county, city, or other agency
As property values flatten, you may see this happen to your with taxing authority.
home or business. Even if the market value of a property

does not increase, its assessed value may increase, causing your
taxes to rise.

While state law requires the Property
Appraiser's Office to value property based
on the status of the market, your tax rate
is set by taxing authorities who answer to
you, the voter.

This is the action of Florida law in a softening market that follows
years of rising market values when the property tax caps protected

property owners from significant tax increases.
Every resident has the right to speak

If you have any questions about this recapture to the elected officials who levy taxes at

process, please contact us. I

CONTACT INFORMATION

Condominium, Cooperative, Townhouse Commercial Agricultural
561.355.2690 561.355.3988 561.355.4577
mycondo@pbcpao.gov mycommercial@pbcpao.gov myfarm@pbcpao.gov

Single Family, Mobile Home

North County - 561.624.6795

West Palm Beach - 561.355.2883
Mid-County & West County - 561.784.1210
South County - 561.276.1201
myhouse@pbcpao.gov

Tangible Personal Property
561.355.2896
mytpp@pbcpao.gov

All Exemptions & Portability
561.355.2866
myexemption@pbcpao.gov

the public meetings listed in your Notice. I

FILING A PETITION

If you feel that the market value of your property

is inaccurate or does not reflect fair market value
as of January 1, 2024, or you are entitled to an
exemption or classification that is not reflected on
your Notice, contact the Property Appraiser’s Office
for an informal review at 561.355.2866.

If we are unable to resolve the matter, you have the
right to file a petition for adjustment with the Value
Adjustment Board (VAB) through the Clerk of the
Circuit Court & Comptroller. They can be reached at
561.355.6289.

Petitions must be filed with the VAB on or before
Monday, September 16, 2024. I

SERVICE CENTERS

Downtown West Palm Beach
301 North Olive Avenue, 1st Floor
West Palm Beach, FL 33401
561.355.2866

Mid West County

200 Civic Center Way, Suite 200
Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411
561.784.1220

South County

14925 Cumberland Drive
Delray Beach, FL 33446
561.276.1250

Belle Glade

2976 State Road 15
Belle Glade, FL 33430
561.996.4890

We Value
What You Value

North County

3188 PGA Boulevard, 2nd Floor
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
561.624.6521




